Svjetlana Bukvich
World | Classical | Jazz | Prog-rock

YouTube Sampler | Amazon | iTunes | ClassicsOnline | Spotify | Rdio | Naxos Music Library

Svjetlana Bukvich, piano, drum tracks, lyrics, narration, SFX, synthesizers and voice; Cornelius Dufallo, violin; Tony Levin, electric upright bass, electric bass, chapman stick; Mordy Ferber, electric guitar; Susan Aquila, electric violin viper; Nikola Radan, alto flute; Leonardo Suarez Paz, violin; Martha Mooke, electric and acoustic viola; Ha-Yang Kim, cello; Gareth Flowers, trumpet; Tim Norris, narration; Risto Bukvic, voice; Todd Townsend, french horn; Johnny Reinhard, bassoon, bass bassoon; GStatus, narration; Mustafa Cengic, narration;

EVOLUTION, the debut release from composer and performer Svjetlana Bukvich on Big Round Records, showcases five original electro-acoustic compositions that incorporate elements of prog-rock, avant-garde, experimental, jazz and world music. Integrating cutting-edge technology with tuning of her own design and her deep classical roots, Bukvich's hybrid sound tells stories of love, loss, trial and triumph in a bold yet sensuous style, breaking boundaries every step of the way.

For Bukvich, EVOLUTION represents a prism through which her life's journeys intersect and flow outward into a new sonic possibility. It is a wonderful challenge to identify, and categorize her works. As an artist with exceptionally wide range, and a passion for innovation, Bukvich has evolved and continues to evolve within the progressive wave of contemporary music in New York City. Featuring renowned musicians from all over the world that are versed in many genres, including bassist Tony Levin (Peter Gabriel, King Crimson), guitarist Mordy Ferber (Michael Brecker, Miroslav Vitous), and electric violist Martha Mooke (Lou Reed) and infused with a potent dose of magic realism, EVOLUTION delivers a uniquely musical universe in which concert hall and club, urban and rural, sacred and secular, and political and anarchistic seamlessly connect.

EVOLUTION was mixed by the multiple Grammy award-winning team David Frost and Tom Lazarus.

Similar Releases